Easter Weekend

Well, its been nearly a week since I last posted. Lots of things have happened, including spending the weekend on the other side of the state with my in-laws! It wasn’t a perfect weekend by any means, but it was nice to have a break from my real life for a while and just go with the flow. I always fall in love with my husband all over again when we go to his family’s house, too, because he is such a family man and that is something I LOVE about him. He always spends a ton of time with our nieces and nephews just doing what they like to do, which is totally cool. It’s just great to see him happy… and to see some daddy practice. ūüôā

This was my first whole weekend away from my healthy lifestyle. I didn’t have any snacks with me and I didn’t go run any of the days we were gone, which is quite a surprise. I was worried that I was going to actually gain weight that week, so I weighed myself Friday morning before my last day of internship, and then again Monday, the morning after we got home. It turns out, I actually kept the same weight over the weekend, which was at about 251lbs… which is a total success!

Image

I had some sweets and ate two different Easter dinner, but I didn’t overdo it at all. I only ate when we had our meals, and just tried to be mindful of my own hunger so I didn’t overeat just because I felt like it. I’m really proud of myself! I managed to lose two more pounds over the last week even through a few ‘cheat days’ and stressful things. I didn’t even celebrate the end of school by overeating, which is definitely something to be proud of. I could overeat to celebrate anything, so its really great to be able to hang in there even through good times and bad. I’m gonna start my weigh-in days on Friday’s for right now, so we’ll have to see how it goes this week. I’m hoping to be under 250 by Friday because it will be so great to see 40’s on the scale for the first time in over a year (I think).

Its also been pretty easy for me to get back into the groove of things this week, even after taking a whole weekend off of my healthy habits.¬† I was thinking it might be tough to start counting again after taking two days off, but Monday morning I got right back into it without missing a beat. It is awesome. I also am able to get as much sleep as I want at night right now because I don’t have anything but work this week. It is great to just be awake 11 hours for work and then be home sleeping however much I want, because I don’t have like 20 hours in a day to eat. Its amazing what those 9 extra hours of not-eating do for the calorie count at the end of the day!

Last week I finished the C25k workout series! Woop woop!

ImageI was supposed to finish it on Wednesday, but I went out to run and didn’t really feel like it. My knee was sore and I was tired, and I just didn’t WANT to run. So, I did some crossfit stuff instead (lunges, squats, etc), and then finished it on Thursday instead of Wednesday. I was pretty beat Thursday too, but I pushed through because I wanted to be able to say I finished it in the amount of time I was supposed to, even though I thought I wouldn’t last past week 3! I’m really proud that I’ve been able to do this whole thing. Eight weeks and thirty pounds have passed, and I can run over two miles without stopping. That is just incredible. I’m still feeling like I’m going strong… and I’ve started doing the 10k program this week! The first week has 4 reps of 10mins jogging and 1 min walking. I started it yesterday and the app got fucked up in the middle, so I just ran 1.5 miles and did some stretching instead of trying to start it over. I got pretty frustrated when it screwed up and I wanted to just be done. Today, I tried again and it worked (thank god), but it was HARD! The first two reps were pretty good, and I had 4 laps done at 20 minutes, which is one lap shy of two miles. I knew that I couldn’t keep that pace up because I was starting to get tired, but I did manage to finish right around 7 laps total, so I hit just under 3 miles for the whole run. I’m glad that I could finish, but it was pretty exhausting. That is 10 minutes longer than the last run that I did last week, so it makes sense that I was beat, but it helped to have the 1 minute walking parts in the middle.¬† I was able to check the times and just focus on making it to the next walking set, and because I have been doing 35-30 minute runs with no break, anything less than 10 minutes feels very doable. I checked my times and I’m at about 12 minute miles, which is pretty good for me. When I first started this whole thing, I was doing like 20minute miles, so this is definitely a big change. AND I can do two miles without too much trouble at 12 min/mile pace so I’m just feeling really accomplished this week.

In other news, I have an interview at a counseling agency tomorrow that I’m really excited for! I also got a call back from another place I applied but I have to get a hold of them tomorrow to set up a time to meet. This is exciting stuff because I really want to get a job right out of the gate. I need to accrue hours to get my license in the next two years, so getting a full-time job will be AWESOME for that. Eeeek!

Leave a Reply

