Gearing up to Vaca!

So, to help with my very, very hectic week, I’m going to Florida with Jared this weekend. We’re leaving at the crack of dawn on Friday, so tomorrow I have to get all my errands done and drop the dogs off with my older brother. It should be a lot of driving… but that’s not too bad. I like music and I can chat on the phone so I’m not too worried. Plus, I get to have lunch with my baby brother David. Yay!

I’ve been reading “What to Expect When You’re Expecting” this week because the doctor gave it to me for free. I’ve been reading a lot about what I should be eating, and its actually been really hard for me. I can easily eat waay more calories than I should, but if I try to eat things that it suggests (3 servings yellow/green fruit/veggies, 6 servings whole grains, etc.) its very, very hard for me to eat more than like 1,400 calories. I hit just that both Monday and Tuesday, and I still needed to eat more but was SO FULL I couldn’t put anything else in my belly. Its pretty cool, but also pretty annoying. I don’t want to gain any weight until its appropriate, but I want to eat enough calories for the baby. Ugh. Being pregnant is awful sometimes! We’re also planning to tell my parents this weekend in Florida. I’m kinda freaking out as it gets closer because every time I talk to my mom, I feel like she has just one more reason that its too early. I’m not sure if she’s trying to hide her real feelings or show me that she’s on my side or what, but I know it will be quite a shock for her. She’s going to love us no matter what, though, so its not the worst worry in the world. I guess I’m just worried that she won’t be as excited as Jared (and his dad!).

Yesterday I went running again. It was super tough at the beginning again. I kept redirecting my thinking to take my mind off of my breathing and steps. I have waaaay too much to think about right now, so it wasn’t too hard.

ImageAs you can see, once I took my mind off of the running, I was quick! I averaged 30 seconds faster per mile as compared to Monday.

ImageI was pretty consistent today with my first two miles. I think I slowed down some for the last one because it was mostly uphill. I also was probably not paying attention enough to speed up. Either way, I’m really happy with the 12:34 overall average. That is down like a whole minute since I started using the RunKeeper app.

Some of the things overwhelming me this week are: what the HELL am I going to do for money when I’m on maternity leave?? I had another interview today, but its for a PT job, not FT. That means that if I were to quit my current job, I would have to take UNPAID maternity leave. That just doesn’t seem plausible to me. I don’t like my current job very much, but I might be forced to stay in it until I can at least get a full time job somewhere else. Or, I need to keep it until after the baby comes and my maternity leave is over. Ugh. This is something I need to talk to my parents about. I hope that their wisdom will be very helpful. AND Hopefully this vaca will help ease my mind!

Leave a Reply

