Welp. Back at it.

Yeahhh. It’s been nearly a year since I posted because I did the whole ‘change everything in your life’ thing. But really, I changed pretty much everything but my husband:

1. I got pregnant

2. I got a new job

3. I got new hobbies

4. I had a baby

5. I got another new job

6. I moved out of Pittsburgh and into my parents’ house.

It’s been a very eventful (and stressful!) year.  Now my beautiful baby is 3 months old, and I’m trying like hell to find motivation to get active and eat healthy again. I totally fell off the wagon after I gave birth. I mean, while I was pregnant, I wasn’t the perfect picture of health, but I was eating plenty of fruits and salads, and I wasn’t binging nearly at all. I swear, after I had that baby and I started breastfeeding, I started getting really bad cravings again and I’ve been struggling with binging ever since. So here I sit at my fairly new job, in my own office, pumping and eating a turkey-on-whole-grain sandwich, telling myself that I need to get it together again. The breastfeeding thing gave me an excuse to eat whatever I wanted because I needed to get enough calories to keep my production up. Well, I’m dealing with production problems right now despite eating like a hog on Saturday and Sunday, so clearly that’s not true. Fortunately, I didn’t gain all of my weight back when I got pregnant, which was my biggest fear. Right now I’m weighing in at 254.6, which is up right around 10 lbs from where I started when I got pregnant. I haven’t been getting any exercise lately either, so I want to set a goal of doing the C25K thing again to see if I can get that number moving down again. It’s Monday, so this seems like as good of a time as ever to start it. The problem is that I get about 1.5 hours with my son each day because he goes to daycare while I work. So I’m either going to have to start running after he goes to bed, or put him in the stroller and push him while I run. I haven’t decided which one sounds like a better idea yet, but I’m thinking the stroller thing will be best because if nobody’s home when he goes to bed, I wont be able to leave anyways. Depending on the weather tonight, I may give W1D1 a try.

When I say things like “depending on….” it usually means that I’m not going to do whatever I said I’m going to do. So if I don’t do it tonight, then I need to do it tomorrow regardless of the weather. This is me giving myself a chance to prove ME wrong. I need to remember that not only am I doing this for my weight, I’m also doing this because I want to be able to enjoy my son when he’s running around. I need to get into shape so that I can be healthy enough to play with my kid.

picture day
Felix, 3 months and soo charming 🙂
Leave a Reply

