Thanksgiving with the in-laws

That sentence sounds like fun doesn’t it? It was actually a pretty good weekend. We went up to Potter County on Thursday in the morning so we could get yo Jared’s grandmas house on time for thanksgiving lunch. We only stayed for about three hours before Felix got fussy and wouldn’t nap so we headed to his sister’s house for the rest of the night. 

  My goal going into the weekend is that I wouldn’t gain any weight by the following Friday. The first (yes, that indicates more than one) turkey dinner we had I ate quite a few potatoes and went over my expected intake. That night we had pizza at his sister’s house which means the whole day was a wash. I did the best I could but it was hard to not binge on pizza since its been so long since I ate any. We also drank quite a bit that night. You can tell when we’re drinking because Jared has a funny smile in pictures. 

  
The next couple days I did much better, eating mostly meat at meal times with some potatoes and a sweet per day, so I didn’t feel like I was missing out but I also didn’t binge. We came back Saturday night and I went running Sunday. It was a 22 minute run, the longest yet without a walking break. I killed it! I was so excited. 

I’ve weighed myself a couple times since and I’m on track to lose weight this week which exceeds my hopes. I was thinking about realistic expectations this morning because I can remember back to when I was trying to lose weight in my early 20’s but I’d give up after like a week because I didn’t lose 10 lbs right away. I’m much better at seeing the the bigger picture now, and even furring weeks that I plateaued, I didn’t lose hope and I kept pushing. It’s nice to feel motivated and hopeful. 

Having realistic expectations this week gave me a chance to enjoy the weekend instead of obsess over every little thing I ate. I think I’ll go into Christmas the same way because I really didn’t worry too much and at no point was I starving myself. 

I’ll admit I’m a bit worried about what I’ll do after the c25k program is over because I like having specific goals to work toward and a little program telling me what to do and when. Last time I just worked on running 3 miles after giving up on the 10k program because the workouts were too long for my lunch break. This year I don’t have that worry but I am afraid of losing steam. I guess I’ll just have to see what happens. 

Leave a Reply

