That dang scale

Well. Here it is. Even though I thought it was a decent week of workouts and eating, this is what I came up with on my weigh in: 209.6. I’ve been gaining and losing the same 4ish pounds for two months now. 


It’s kinda frustrating, but I think I may be self-sabotaging. I have definitely not done a long run on a weekend (or at all) since my half on June 10th, but I’ve still been eating kinda crappy on weekends. So, I’ve been setting myself up for failure a bit because I work so hard during the week but then detail on the weekend. 

So, Sunday I said that enough was enough and I ran 8 miles! 


I actually can’t believe that pace because it’s both faster than my norm and longer than any run in over a month. Weird how that works. I guess I just really needed it! 

Today I also got my new garmin in the mail. I got a decent bonus with work last week because I busted my ass this year, and I follow a few websites that include runners who use different fitness watches and methods. I did a bunch of research and I came to try the Garmin Vivoactive HR. I hope to run a triathlon someday, so this will work for that, but for now it will do everything I want with no extra effort lol. 

I didn’t order it with any thoughts about it helping me beat the scale, but full disclosure: now that I’m thinking about it, I do hope it helps! 

Today I got it and I used that as an excuse to go for a short run after work. 


I do really like the way the app is so well set up and gives all the info I want like this. Hope to see a loss on the scale this week!

2 thoughts on “That dang scale

  1. I’ve gained and lost and regained 5-10 lbs for the past year. I’m calling it a year of “maintaining” 😉 Great job sticking with it!!!

    1. I suppose you’re right! I think mentally I am frustrated that I’m maintaining above my goal… but its way better than regaining! Thanks for the help with reframing my thoughts!

Leave a Reply

